I placed my profile on Elena's models some time ago, and I received 2 replies, but then the third one arrived, the one which I was interested to reply to. You can't read messages they send, unless you "upgrade" to Gold or Platinum membership (+$100). However, you can correspond with one lady for $10. So I paid the ten bucks, read her message and replied. No response, and I think I'm waiting in vain.
To put this into context, the first two letters (that I didn't respond to) seemed legitimate (even though I wasn't able to read the letters - since I didn't want to upgrade). I could tell from reading the profile that i wasn't interested. However, each profile, by itself, gave me enough info that I could say to myself, this was probably a real letter (and that I wouldn't be interested).
Anyway, after my romantic fervor cooled down a bit, I realized the letter writer was probably doing a "mass-mailing." Here's the whole letter:
"Hi! How are you? It's nice to see your profile. I'm interested to
learn more about you. Hope you will write me back. Sincerely, Irina"
So now it's obvious that "Irina" didn't write to me personally. And that her "interest" in me is about as much as my interest in what brand of beer I buy tonight.
Actually I can't even say that with 100% conviction - I have had messages from women on love.ru that are just as short - and I know they are real people, and that they are waiting for the other person to take the first step - to show them that I am interested, before they commit to even a writing relationship. It's kinda like, "I don't want to commit a lot of time and emotional effort into writing a long heartfelt intro letter, since there is the distinct possibility that the other person will simply ignore me. I will just send out a feeler and see what happens..."
All in all, though, such a short letter, I think does show some kind of lack of depth...
What this has to do with Elena's models, I'm not sure. I have heard of a lot of scammers doing "mass-mailings" through legitimate sites, posting a lot of letters before they caught - if they are fast and knowledgeable they can post hundreds of the same letters.
My other experience with Elena's models occurred when I went to Yoshkar-Ola ("scam city" my friend Mikhail says

) The woman I had corresponded with, we met, but it was not a great match. The agency was unhelpful, once they realized I was not a cash cow for them. I had already paid for hotel room for 7 days, so I went to the internet cafe and searched through Elena's Models for ladies from Yoshkar-Ola, and narrowed it down to one I thought might work out - I paid the $10 for the phone number, and the lady spoke English, and it's a long story, but eventually we met, and the rest of the story, I'm still not sure of, but I'm getting off topic...
If you want to be close to 100% sure that the site you are using is legit, it should be a site that is "local" - that is physically located in one city -an actual office that you can visit, and that they use to interview and "vet" the matrimonial-minded. A local office is better able to sift through the scammers and verify the "pros." Elena's Models is not based here, so they really have fewer tools to detect scammers - they can't call someone up and ask them to come to the office.